The Team

Optometry Scotland Executive Committee


Chair David Quigley, Director, Specsavers Scotland 

Vice-Chair Julie Mosgrove, became Vice-Chair of Optometry Scotland in June 2019.  Julie has a wealth of optical and business experience initially working as an optometrist in Grampian before moving into a clinical management role for Duncan and Todd and more recently, Retail Director for the group.  Julie is a member of the Grampian AOC which is how she first got involved with Optometry Scotland. 

Immediate Past Chair Samantha Watson, has held numerous leadership roles at Boots Opticians, including head of policy and most recently Senior Professional Services Manager.

Clinical Advisor Frank Munro, Independent optometrist with six practices located across Glasgow and Lanarkshire and one of the founders of Optometry Scotland. Frank is Chair of the NES Advisory board, is area optical lead for Lanarkshire and acting Optometric Adviser for Lanarkshire.

Treasurer Gale Leslie, Locum optometrist

Sub Committee Chairs

Professional Development Committee Gillian Syme, Director, Specsavers Irvine. Very much still involved as part of the optometry team in Irvine and is testing most days. Gill has worked with Specsavers for twenty four years and is a member of the local Area Optical Committee and Specsavers’ ‘Professional Leadership Council’.

Communications Committee Nicola McElvanney, helped to establish the Optometry Scotland Communications Committee, its purpose being to establish better methods of engaging with members and non-members, advising them of OS activity, and seeking views and opinions of the profession as a whole.

Dispensing Committee Graeme Stevenson, Graeme represents the Association of British Dispensing Opticians (ABDO) on the Optometry Scotland Executive. Graeme is a contact lens optician working in practice in Glasgow four days per week. In addition, he is a CET approver and Educational Visitor Panel member for the General Optical Council. Graeme is the sub regional lead for ABDO in Scotland. He is a past chair of the Scottish Contact Lens Society and has worked as a clinical affairs consultant for Alcon

Independent Representatives

Colette Dunsmore, Independent practice owner and IP optometrist, Lanarkshire

Alistair Duff, Independent practice owner in Ayrshire

Ian Jarvis, Independent practice owner in Dundee

Richard Spruce, Independent practice owner in Forth Valley

Multiple Representatives

Eilidh Thomson Black and Lizars, Eilidh is an Independent Prescribing optometrist who will be undertaking the inaugural NESGAT glaucoma accreditation from NES

Joseph Duffy, Boots, Joseph is an Area Manager at Boots Opticians overseeing Scotland. Originally working as an Optometrist, he has over 20 years with the group working throughout the UK. Joseph has broad understanding of  the business having worked in various  leadership roles. He has experience across healthcare in the UK having held roles in  Pharmacy and consumer healthcare as well as Optometric Clinical support and Contact lens category. Most recently, he has been instrumental in planning Boots Optician’s adaption  throughout COVID-19 to safely look after customers and staff across the UK.

Emma Robb Specsavers, Independent prescribing optometrist and Store Director of Specsavers Newton Mearns

David MacTaggart Vision Express, David started his career in optics at 16 years old with Vision Express, initially as a part time associate, working his way up to store manager after completing his first degree in Business. David returned to University in 2009 to study Optometry at Glasgow Caledonian University qualifying in 2014 and is currently working towards completing his clinical placement for a post graduate in Independent Prescribing . As well as working full time in Vision Express’ Aberdeen practice, David works for VE professional services department covering the whole of Scotland. 


Professional Body Representatives 

Brenda Rennie ABDO, Brenda Rennie FBDO is a Dispensing Optician currently employed in independent practice. Brenda is the ABDO Regional Lead for Scotland. Brenda is an ABDO Examiner and has facilitated discussion workshops and peer discussions for ABDO and NES

Kathryn Trimmer FODO, Chair of FODO Scotland. Kathryn is an Independent Prescribing optometrist in Grampian with Duncan and Todd and part of their professional services team.  Currently College of Optometrists councillor for Scotland, Chair of Grampian AOC, and also Chair of FODO Scotland for whom she is representing as part of the Optometry Scotland team.

Kevin Wallace, Association of Optometrists, Kevin is an IP optometrist in independent practice in Edinburgh. He is also clinical advisor to the AOP Legal Department and Optometric Advisor to NHS Lothian.


Joanne O’Hanlon and Emma Kellacher Optometry Scotland Operations Co-Ordinators, Joanne and Emma are the first point of contact for Optometry Scotland. They are responsible for all administration duties and are the secretariat.

contact email address: