Skip to main content Skip to footer

Meet the Team

Optometry Scotland is governed by an Executive Committee, supported by an operational team from our office in Glasgow. We’re dedicated to helping our members, and supporting the optical industry. Find out more about the teams below.

OS Operational Team

As your day-to-day contacts, our Operations Team supports our members and the goals of Optometry Scotland to ensure the sustainability of eye care in Scotland. 

Emma Kellacher

Membership and Communications Lead

Emma and Joanne are the first point of contact at Optometry Scotland. 

Joanne O'Hanlon

Operations Lead

Joanne and Emma are the first point of contact at Optometry Scotland. 

OS Executive Committee

The Optometry Scotland executive committee comprises of optical experts, giving members access to a superb and knowledgeable team who can help answer any queries that may occur in day to day practice. This is in addition to acting as a collective voice and lobbying on behalf of its members on key industry issues.

Julie Mosgrove


Julie is an Independent Prescribing Optometrist based in Grampian and represents the Duncan and Todd Group on the OS Executive. Julie is the Retail Director for D&T and has overall responsibility for the growing network of 40+ practices across Scotland.

Eilidh Thomson

Vice Chair

Eilidh is an independent prescribing and NESGAT optometrist for Black and Lizars, Edinburgh and works within the professional services team.

Dave Quigley

Past Chair

Gale Leslie



Frank Munro

Clinical Advisor

Frank has six practices located across Glasgow and Lanarkshire and is one of the founders of Optometry Scotland. Frank is area optical lead and Optometric Advisor for Lanarkshire.

Nicola McElvanney

Communications Committee Chair

Nikki is a practice owner and Chair of the OS Communications Committee.

Gill Syme

Professional Development Committee Chair

Gill has worked for Specsavers for 27 years and is the Chair of the OS Professional Development Committee.

Graeme Stevenson

Dispensing Opticians Committee Chair

Graeme is a Contact Lens Optician working in practice. He is a past Chair of the Scottish Contact Lens Society and has worked in practice for almost 40 years.

Ian Jarvis

Independent Representative - North Regional Cluster

Ian is an independent prescribing and NESGAT qualified  Optometrist based in Dundee and is on the Tayside AOC.

Arthur McHugh

Independent Representative - West Regional Cluster

Arthur is an Independent Prescribing Optometrist and NESGAT qualified.

Richard Spruce

Independent Representative - Central/East Regional Cluster

Richard is an independent optometrist who works for R.D. McFarlane and Nicol’s opticians. He splits his time between their practices in Forth Valley and the Scottish Borders.

Joe Duffy

Boots Representative

Joseph is an Optometrist who has practised throughout the UK for over the past 20 years. He is responsible for Boots Opticians Stores in Scotland and Northern Ireland.

Kirandeep Sangha

Vision Express Representative

Kirandeep is an optometrist for Vision Express. She is the Eyecare Professional Forum representative for Scottish optometrists within Vision Express, holds a qualification in Myopia Management from GCU and is sits on the AOC for Ayrshire and Arran. 

Maria McAllister

Specsavers Representative

Maria is a qualified optometrist based in Tayside. She is the Divisional Clinical Performance Consultant Scotland, for Specsavers. Within her role she supports the professional development and clinical advancement of Specsavers clinicians.

Neil Gray

Hakim Representative

Neil is an IP Optometrist and Director with Urquhart Opticians which is part of the Hakim Group. He predominately spends his time in their Ayrshire practices.

Brenda Rennie

ABDO Representative

Brenda is a Dispensing Optician employed in independent practice. Brenda is an ABDO Board member, ABDO Regional Lead for Scotland, ABDO Examiner and has facilitated discussion workshops and peer discussions for ABDO and NES.

Kevin Wallace

AOP Representative

Kevin is an IP optometrist in independent practice in Edinburgh. He is also clinical advisor to the AOP Legal Department and Optometric Advisor to NHS Lothian.

Kathryn Trimmer

FODO Scotland Representative

Kathryn is an Independent Prescribing optometrist in Grampian with Duncan and Todd and part of their professional services team.  Currently College of Optometrists councillor for Scotland, and Chair of FODO Scotland.

Cookie Notice

Find out more about how this website uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience.