Skip to main content Skip to footer

New AOP Councillors announced



The Association of Optometrists (AOP) announces new Council representatives, across different modes of practice and career stages.

Adam Sampson, AOP Chief Executive, said: “I’m pleased to welcome our new and returning Council members, who bring a breadth of knowledge and experience to their positions in representing our members and the profession. Our Councillors play a crucial role in shaping our policy work and informing our member services. I look forward to working with them to drive change in the sector and advance the future of optics.

Emma Spofforth, AOP Chairman of the Board and Council, said: “We’d like to thank all of the candidates who put themselves forward for this year’s election and appointed positions. It is encouraging to see such active engagement from our members, and we welcome their input in tackling the key issues impacting the profession.”

“I commend our current and departing Councillors for their dedication and commitment to fully representing all members’ interests – their insight continues to be instrumental in shaping our policy making and building the AOP’s influence.”

Ki Yan Lam, Undergraduate student Councillor, said: “I am delighted with my appointment as a Councillor, which will give me the opportunity to amplify voices, advocate for their needs, and contribute to the optometry community. I am committed to representing my peers and ensuring that their concerns are heard and addressed effectively.”

The AOP invited nominations from eligible members for its Council on 19 February.

Council elections took place between 28 March and 23 April, with members invited to vote in the constituencies that were contested by more than one candidate: East of England, North East England, South West England and West Midlands.

The Appointments Committee made the final decision on the designated positions on 24 April on four designated positions: Dispensing optician, Pre-registration optometrist, Newly-qualified and Early career optometrist, and Undergraduate student.

Councillors will begin their term of office on 5 June 2024 at the AOP’s annual AGM.

Elected/appointed position


Dispensing optician

Sarah White

East of England

Nicholas Hagan

East Midlands

Reena Rani Anand


Jagdeep Kaur Gill 

Newly qualified and Early career optometrist

Summaya Ali

North East England

Simon Raw

North West 

Sarah Lowry

Northern Ireland

Catherine McGukin 

Pre-registration optometrist

Habeeb Rahman


Frances Jamieson


Jonathan Waugh

South East England

Rachel Hiscox

South West England

Karen Gennard

Undergraduate student

Ki Yan Lam


Martin Sweeney 

West Midlands

Sukhi Drake

Yorkshire and the Humber

Nizz Sabir

For more information on the AOP Council and the role of Councillors, visit


Cookie Notice

Find out more about how this website uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience.